Coke Zero

My pre-class ritual is to go buy a plastic bottle of Cherry Coke Zero so I can drink it before and during class. It helps me stay awake and alert. I suffer without it.

coca-cola_vanilla_zero_us_label.jpg

Midway through last semester, a couple people asked me why I always brought some to class. After explaining to them that it’s a superior product to Coke, with no sugar or bad sugary aftertaste, and the same amount of caffeine, they got hooked on it too. Now I always see them drinking the Zero too, and they love talking about it.

Then I started seeing at Vital Vittles, the student-run co-op snack store on campus, that the Zero would sell out first of all the drinks. I should also add that Georgetown only has Coca-Cola products. Pepsi has been shut out. What this means is that 1) Georgetown has some exclusivity contract which seems anti-competitive and rent-seeking, and 2) motha fucka can’t get no fuckin’ Mountain Dew.

So what I’m observing is that Zero is a true success story. It is a trend-setter. Read more about it through Wikipedia’s article. There have been a lot of failed products released in the soft drink market. But Zero has established itself. It has gotten to the point now where when Zero is sold out, I really really do not want to buy regular Coke, because of “all that sugar”.

Is this a micro-trend waiting to break out?

One last point: the label for Zero is god-awful.

Look at the typeface. The “zero” is a decreasing font-weight pattern, with the ‘z’ as the heaviest and the ‘o’ as the lightest. The “Vanilla” part looks like some children’s marketing font, and then there’s the red Coca-Cola brand on top of some purple/white/black swirl. There’s a lot going on there. But the varying typefaces and weights look disgusting.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Coke Zero

  1. I still don’t understand why people choose to drink aspartame rather than sugar, considering the like, 100 side effects and possible links to serious diseases.

    :(

  2. Yes, you can write at length about foreign policy and the stock market, but people will only come out to comment in droves when you start talking about canned drinks.

    I think Coke Zero tastes just like and just as bad as Diet Coke. There’s the same briny aftertaste that makes me unable to finish even a can of it.

    I tried C2, with half the sugar, and it was okay, but then I noticed I started drinking twice as much of it. I’ve managed to acquire a taste for sparkling water now though and have come to terms with being an off-brand Perrier-swilling Yuppie.

Leave a Reply

